NHL Qualifying Offer Tracker: Who’s becoming a UFA?

The NHL’s free agency opens Wednesday at noon ET — and the list of unrestricted free agents is growing.

A player can become an unrestricted free agent if they are over 27 years old or have played in the league for seven years.

Anyone who does not fit those criteria is considered a pending restricted free agent, where teams hold more rights to retain a player should their contract be up. However, if a team does not extend a qualifying offer to its pending RFAs, they forfeit the negotiating rights and the player becomes a UFA.

A qualifying offer must be at least:

• 110 per cent of the player’s base salary from the season prior if they make under $650,000
• 105 per cent if the player makes between $650,000 and $1 million
• 100 per cent if the player makes over $1 million

On Monday, a number of players did not receive qualifying offers before the 5 pm ET deadline — big names such as Dylan Strome, Ilya Samsonov and Sonny Milano among them.

Here’s the list of names we know so far:

Anaheim Ducks

• Jack Badini
•Roman Durny
• Lucas Elvenes
• Brendan Guhlé
•Jacob Larsson
• Sonny Milano
• Sam Steel

arizona coyotes

• Kyle Capobianco
• Cole Hults

Boston Bruins

• Qualified all RFAs.

Buffalo Sabers

• Qualified all RFAs.

Calgary Flames

• Johannes Kinnvall
•Tyler Parsons

Carolina Hurricanes

• David Cotton
• Jack LaFontaine
• Beck Warm

Chicago Blackhawks

• Andrei Altybarmakyan
• Wyatt Kalynuk
• Dominik Kubalik
• Cale Morris
•Cameron Morrison
• Dylan Strome

Colorado Avalanche

• Nicolas Aube-Kubel

Columbus Blue Jackets

•Gabriel Carlsson
• Kevin Stenlund

Dallas Stars

• Jordan Kawaguchi
• Alexey Lipanov
• Colton Point

Detroit Red Wings

• Mitchell Stephens
• Olli Juolevi
• Kaden Fulcher
• Filip Larsson

Edmonton Oilers

• Filip Berglund
• Brendan Perlini
• Ostap Safin

Florida Panthers

• Evan Fitzpatrick
• Jonas Johansson
• German Rubtsov

Los Angeles Kings

• Brendan Lemieux
•Johan Sodergran
• Vladimir Tkachev

Minnesota Wild

• Dereck Baribeau
• Fyodor Gordeev

Montreal Canadiens

•Josh Brook
• Kale Clague
• Rem Pitlick

Nashville Predators

• Not announced yet.

New Jersey Devils

• Qualified all RFAs.

New York Islanders

• Not announced yet.

New York Rangers

• Jacob Elmer
• Justin Richards
• Ty Ronning
• Tyler Wall

Ottawa Senators

• Adam Gaudette
• Michael McNiven
• Victor Mete

Philadelphia Flyers

• Matthew Strome
• Maksim Sushko
• Kirill Ustimenko

Pittsburgh Penguins

•Niclas Almari
• Justin Almeida
• Jordy Bellerive
• Alex D’Orio.
• Jan Drozg
• Danton Heinen
• Cam Lee
• Will Reilly

San Jose Sharks

• Joachim Blichfeld
• Jonathan Dahlen
• Zach Gallant
• Jake McGrew
• Nicolas Meloche
• Antoine Morand
• Brinson Paschinuk
• Zach Sawchenko

Seattle Kraken

• Dennis Cholowski
• Ryan Donato
• Haydn Fleury
• Daniel Sprong

St. Louis Blues

• Tanner Kaspick

Tampa Bay Lightning

• Not announced yet.

Toronto Maple Leafs

• Ondrej Kase
• Joseph Duszak
• Kristians Rubins
• Chad Krys
• Ian Scott

Vancouver Canucks:

• Justin Bailey
• Matthew Highmore
• Juho Lammikko

Vegas Golden Knights

• Brett Howden
• Ben Jones

Washington Capitals

• Ilya Samsonov.

Winnipeg Jets

• Markus Phillips
• Evgeny Svechnikov

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *